New Year, (re)New You

Ah, tis the season for making New Year’s resolutions. Is your list 20 items long? Have you given thought to what you want to accomplish in 2013? I’m not in the habit of making New Year’s resolutions (it’s a pretty radical choice), but I definitely undergo a period at the beginning of the year where I focus on renewing my life. After all, this is the perfect time to start fresh.

What do I mean by renewing? Well, as good old Merriam-Webster would put it, to renew is to “make like new (obviously); restore to freshness, vigor, or perfection”

Are there some aspects of your life that have gone stale, and could use a bit of renewing? Maybe you don’t need to make huge resolutions, but instead, work on the little things in your life. Now is the time to envision what 2013 will hold for you, and it is the time to decide how that might happen.

Here are two aspects of my life that I want to focus on renewing this year:

-My sense of style:

Problem: I have gotten into this style comfort zone of wearing subdued colors and lots of scarves…and now I am in the mood to try something fresh. I would love to try something a little more edgy. Black leather and studs, perhaps? Hmmm, I will definitely have to try and incorporate that somehow into my wardrobe!

Solution: If you are struggling to update your style the best way is actually to un-define it. Get out of your comfort zone and try something completely fresh. Try on items that you feel you would never wear. It may be a happy surprise to find out that you actually like it. Don’t know where to begin? Take a friend or family member shopping with you and give them the control of picking out the outfits!

  • Key point: Take some time to evaluate what you wear and how it makes you feel. A new look will give you a new zest for life. 

-Focusing on relationships:

Problem: As a college student I definitely get into a zone of convenience as I like to call it. What is a zone of convenience you might ask? Well, it’s like a vortex where all the choices revolve around what is easiest for you to do at any given time. My zone of convenience looks like this. I tend to focus on all my schoolwork first, and then make time for fun stuff or hanging out with friends when it’s convenient for me (yes, it is sad, but true!). You don’t have to be a student to be in a zone of convenience. This zone affects people who have a highly routinized behavior (i.e., going to work, taking care of the kids, etc).

Solution: Understanding that sacrifices have to be made and simply making the effort to reach out. Maybe there is a friend that you haven’t gotten together with in a long time. Text them, or call them to see how they are doing. Take the time out of your day to listen to people and be sincere. Get to know your colleagues, your employees, your students, acquaintances, etc. By focusing on relationships, you get to focus on the people who help to bring out the best qualities in yourself

  • Key point: You never know when you may need someone’s help, so make your relationships count.

Now, I will leave you with some thoughts to ponder and guide you through a time of renewal.

6a011168668cad970c0133f25ee3dd970b

source

534450_224989880936876_1469710411_n

source

quote-53-change-is-good

source

~E~

Style.Study.Savvy

About elementallifestyle

"You can never be overdressed, or overeducated."-Oscar Wilde View all posts by elementallifestyle

Leave a Reply

