SOS- Style on the Sidewalks

Meet Hayley B. She’s 20 years old, from Berkeley, CA, a psychology major, and a vegetarian. She also happens to be a radiant example of campus fashion…and my first “style on the sidewalk” star.

Hayley was so gracious to let me snap a quick photo, and since she was done with classes she even granted me an interview so I could explore her personal sense of style.

Q: Tell me about your personal sense of style.

A: Well, I’m a California girl at heart and I strive to bring that sunshine everywhere I go.

Q: So how does that translate into your clothing choices?

 A: I like to wear a lot of interesting stuff…and I don’t take myself too seriously. I want to wear clothes that accentuate my personality. Pieces that remind me of home especially pique my interest. I really don’t go for a specific type of “look”.

 Q: What types of “interesting” pieces do you have?

 A: Well, my mom was a huge hippie back in the day (seriously), and she made me a maxi-skirt out of organic cotton from a 1970’s vintage pattern that she used when she was my age! It’s one of my favorite pieces and reminds me of where I come from.

 Q: That is so neat! So, tell me a bit about your outfit that you wore today?

 A: Umm…I wasn’t sure what the weather was gonna be like today…so I wore shorts and a scarf, just in case. As for the fedora…well I guess you could say I was feeling a bit sassy!

 Q: If you had to come up with your personal style motto, what would it be?

 A: Hmm…be an individual, and when in doubt look to your roots for inspiration.

So, there you have it. Some style inspiration hot off the streets…errr, sidewalks I mean!

~E~

Style.Study.Savvy

About elementallifestyle

"You can never be overdressed, or overeducated."-Oscar Wilde View all posts by elementallifestyle

Leave a Reply

